ore than 90 high schools across the 24-county region compete in more than a dozen sports on a varsity level each year. Most compete under the guidelines of the Missouri State High School Activities Association, and others under the sanction of the Missouri Christian School Athletic Association.

Southeast Missouri schools and athletes have won hundreds of state championships in a variety of athletic competitions, including baseball, basketball, cheerleading, football, soccer, softball, track and field, volleyball and wrestling since high school sports first began locally more than 120 years ago.

Much of the historical high school information on this site was gathered by Al Jackson, a longtime Southeast Missouri high school sports advocate and historian whose hard work allows us to share the great teams, athletes and stories of past years. Al died in 2018, and we dedicate these pages to him.

Stay in touch • Share your ideas, suggestions or complaints with us here, or share them on our forum or on social media. We value your feedback.

Your name:

Your email address:

Share your comments:

Portageville's 1991-92 season ended with its second consecutive basketball state championship, which was part of a four-year domination of the Class 2A state tournament.

SEMOSPORTSONE PHOTO • photos@semosportsone.com

State basketball championship history

Southeast Missouri boys basketball teams have won multiple state championships for almost 100 years. The MSHSAA sanctioned boys state tournaments beginning in 1927, and those titles are listed first. The Missouri Christian Schools Athletic Association also holds state tournaments for member schools. The MNIAA sanctioned boys tournaments for all-black schools from 1935 to 1955, prior to segregation. From 1923 to 1925, state teachers colleges sanctioned a rotating state tournament. From 1917 to 1926, the University of Missouri hosted a statewide tournament, but it included few Southeast Missouri teams because of travel requirements.

MSHSAA tournaments were played as an open-class tournament from 1927 to 1931 (so that all schools, regardless of size, competed in one tournament), then again from 1934 to 1938, and again from 1943 to 1949. In other seasons, schools were divided into at least two classes and two state tournaments.

In the 2019-20 season, C1-C2-C3 championships were played, although entry was limited to 100 people per school because of COVID-19 concerns. The following week's C4-C5 finals were canceled; Notre Dame was scheduled to participate in the C4 semifinals.

2019-20: none (C4-C5 cancelled because of COVID-19 pandemic)
2018-19: none
2017-18: Eminence (C1)
2016-17: Oran (C1)
2015-16: none
2014-15: Scott County Central (C1)
2013-14: Scott County Central (C1), Eagle Ridge Christian (MCSAA Class 1A)
2012-13: Eminence (C1)
2011-12: Scott County Central (C1), Charleston C3)
2010-11: Scott County Central (C1), Sikeston (C4)
2009-10:Scott County Central (C1), Eagle Ridge Christian (MCSAA Class 1A)
2008-09: Scott County Central (C1), Portageville (C2)
2007-08: Notre Dame (C4)
2006-07: Charleston (C3)
2005-06: none
2004-05: Poplar Bluff (C5)
2003-04: Bell City (C1), Poplar Bluff (C5)
2002-03: East Carter County (C2)
2001-02: Bell City (1A)
2000-01: New Madrid County Central (3A)
1999-00: New Madrid County Central (3A)
1998-99: none
1997-98: none
1996-97: East Carter County (2A)
1995-96: Richland (1A), Charleston (3A)
1994-95: none
1993-94: Portageville (2A)
1992-93: Scott County Central (1A), Portageville (2A)
1991-92: Van Buren (1A), Portageville (2A), Charleston (3A)
1990-91: Scott County Central (1A), Portageville (2A), Festus (3A)
1989-90: Scott County Central (1A), Charleston (3A)
1988-89: Scott County Central (1A), Charleston (3A)
1987-88: Scott County Central (1A), New Madrid County Central (3A)
1986-87: Scott County Central (1A), Notre Dame (2A), Charleston (3A)
1985-86: Scott County Central (1A), Notre Dame (2A), Charleston (3A)
1984-83: Scott County Central (1A), Malden (3A)
1983-84: none
1982-83: Scott County Central (1A), Hayti (2A), Charleston (3A)
1981-82: none
1980-81: North Pemiscot (1A)
1979-80: Scott County Central (2A), Charleston (3A), Cape Girardeau Central (4A)
1978-79: Scott County Central (1A)
1977-78: none
1976-77: Lesterville (1A)
1975-76: Scott County Central (1A)
1974-75: Advance (1A), Lilbourn (2A), Charleston (3A)
1973-74: Lilbourn (2A)
1972-73: none
1971-72: Advance (S)
1970-71: none
1969-70: none
1968-69: none
1967-68: Matthews (M)
1966-67: none
1965-66: none
1964-65: South Iron (S)
1963-64: none
1962-63: none
1961-62: none
1960-61: none
1959-60: Van Buren (S)
1958-59: none
1957-58: none
1956-57: none
1955-56: none
1954-55: none
1953-54: Cape Girardeau Central (A), Cobb (MNIAA Class B)
1952-53: none
1951-52: Puxico (B)
1950-51: Puxico (B)
1949-50: none
1948-49: none
1947-48: none
1946-47: none
1945-46: none
1944-45: none
1943-44: Bismarck (single class)
1942-43: none
1941-42: none
1940-41: none
1939-40: Zalma (B)
1938-39: Wheatley (MNIAA Class B)
1937-38: Wheatley (MNIAA Class B)
1936-37: none
1935-36: none
1934-35: none
1933-34: Jackson (single class)
1932-33: none
1931-32: Fruitland (B)
1930-31: none
1929-30: none
1928-29: none
1927-28: none
1926-27: none
1925-26: Jackson (Teachers College state champion)

Have information to share? • Our goal is to make this list as inclusive and accurate as possible. If you have updates or information that would help improve this list, we would like to include it here. Click here to contact us by email, or use the form on the left side of this page.

© All Rights Reserved. Content is the property of its owners and may not be reproduced without express written consent.