ore than 90 high schools across the 24-county region compete in more than a dozen sports on a varsity level each year. Most compete under the guidelines of the Missouri State High School Activities Association, and others under the sanction of the Missouri Christian School Athletic Association.

Southeast Missouri schools and athletes have won hundreds of state championships in a variety of athletic competitions, including baseball, basketball, cheerleading, football, soccer, softball, track and field, volleyball and wrestling since high school sports first began locally more than 120 years ago.

Much of the historical high school information on this site was gathered by Al Jackson, a longtime Southeast Missouri high school sports advocate and historian whose hard work allows us to share the great teams, athletes and stories of past years. Al died in 2018, and we dedicate these pages to him.

Stay in touch • Share your ideas, suggestions or complaints with us here, or share them on our forum or on social media. We value your feedback.

Your name:

Your email address:

Share your comments:

Local members of the MFCA Hall of Fame

Several Southeast Missouri high school football coaches have been chosen for inclusion in the Missouri Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame. These are those who have been chosen from the 24-county area, along with the Southeast Missouri team(s) they're most closely associated.

Class of 2012: Kent Gibbs, Sikeston
2011: Bob Stolzer, Sainte Genevieve
2009: Jim McKay, Portageville; Matt Haug, North County and Dexter; Paul Webber, Poplar Bluff
2005: Will Wilthong, Scott City
2004: Charlie Vickery, Sikeston
2002: Bill Schuchardt, Salem
1999: David Meek, Thayer
1993: Vic Reaves, Portageville
1992: Cliff Cromer, Valle Catholic

Have information to share? • Our goal is to make this list as inclusive and accurate as possible. If you have updates or information that would help improve this list, we would like to include it here. Click here to contact us by email, or use the form on the left side of this page.

© All Rights Reserved. Content is the property of its owners and may not be reproduced without express written consent.