ore than 90 high schools across the 24-county region compete in more than a dozen sports on a varsity level each year. Most compete under the guidelines of the Missouri State High School Activities Association, and others under the sanction of the Missouri Christian School Athletic Association.

Southeast Missouri schools and athletes have won hundreds of state championships in a variety of athletic competitions, including baseball, basketball, cheerleading, football, soccer, softball, track and field, volleyball and wrestling since high school sports first began locally more than 120 years ago.

Much of the historical high school information on this site was gathered by Al Jackson, a longtime Southeast Missouri high school sports advocate and historian whose hard work allows us to share the great teams, athletes and stories of past years. Al died in 2018, and we dedicate these pages to him.

Stay in touch • Share your ideas, suggestions or complaints with us here, or share them on our forum or on social media. We value your feedback.

Your name:

Your email address:

Share your comments:

Ellington's 1987-88 team went 28-1 and won the Thanksgiving tournament, the second year in a row for the program. The Whippets have been Arcadia Valley champions as long ago as 1930 and as recently as 2015. The 1987 team, pictured: Kendall Tilley, Tony Buford, J.W. Flowers, Mike Scott, Roy Masters, Tim Cole, Gary Copeland, Ricky Buston, Marty Baysinger, Troy Spradley, Jeff Eaton, Robbie Wilson, and coach Jim Seal. Click here to see more photos and share yours in our forum.

PROVIDED PHOTO • photos@semosportsone.com

Arcadia Valley Thanksgiving Tournament history

The oldest tournament in the state began in November 1927 at the former Ironton High School, where crowds filled the gym's lower floor and balcony. On some game nights, the balcony became so crowded that a rope would be used to lift concession items to fans who couldn't get out of their seat.

The tournament's name changed in 1961 when Ironton High School became Arcadia Valley High School as part of a consolidation. Its last team change was in 2013 when Park Hills Central dropped out of the tournament and was replaced by Fredericktown.

The tournament is considered to be the unofficial launch of the high school basketball season in Southeast Missouri.

2019-20: South Iron 64, Lesterville 59
2018: South Iron 81, Lesterville 46
2017: Lesterville 70, South Iron 45
2016: West County 41, Ellington 38
2015: Ellington 66, West County 60
2014: West County 48, South Iron
2013: South Iron 39, Clearwater 36
2012: South Iron 54, Clearwater 51
2011: South Iron 45, Park Hills Central 31
2010: Park Hills Central 42, Clearwater 24
2009 Arcadia Valley 67, Park Hills Central 48
2008: South Iron 68, Lesterville 64
2007: South Iron 66, West County 47
2006: South Iron 65, West County 52
2005: South Iron 55, West County 31
2004: South Iron 65, Park Hills Central 61, OT
2003: South Iron 63, Arcadia Valley 39
2002: Arcadia Valley 69, Ellington 55
2001: Clearwater 65, Arcadia Valley 50
2000: South Iron 71, Arcadia Valley 63
1999: South Iron
1998: Arcadia Valley 52, Clearwater 31
1997: Arcadia Valley
1996: Arcadia Valley
1995: Ellington 62, South Iron 53
1994: Clearwater
1993: Bunker
1992: South Iron
1991: Ellington
1990: Arcadia Valley
1989: Ellington
1988: South Iron
1987: Ellington
1986: Ellington
1985: Clearwater
1984: Clearwater
1983: Clearwater
1982: Bismarck
1981: Arcadia Valley
1980: Bismarck
1979: Bismarck
1978: Arcadia Valley
1977: Bismarck
1976: Clearwater
1975: Ellington
1974: Arcadia Valley
1973: Clearwater
1972: Arcadia Valley
1971: South Iron
1970: Clearwater
1969: Clearwater
1968: Ellington
1967: Bismarck
1966: Lesterville
1965: South Iron
1964: South Iron
1963: South Iron
1962: South Iron
1961: South Iron
1960: Farmington Saint Joseph
1959: Ironton
1958: Centerville
1957: Farmington Saint Joseph
1956: Elvins
1955: Desloge
1954: Bonne Terre
1953: Bonne Terre
1952: Annapolis
1951: Piedmont
1950: Ironton
1949: Doe Run
1948: Frankclay
1947: Ironton
1946: Greenville
1945: Bismarck
1944: Bismarck
1943: Elvins
1942: Annapolis
1941: Caledonia
1940: Bismarck
1939: Centerville
1938: Ironton
1937: Ironton
1936: Ironton
1935: Caledonia
1934: Ellington
1933: Salem
1932: Ironton
1931: Caledonia
1930: Ellington
1929: Caledonia
1928: Caledonia
1928: Greenville
1927: Greenville

Have information to share? • Our goal is to make this list as inclusive and accurate as possible. If you have updates or information that would help improve this list, we would like to include it here. Click here to contact us by email, or use the form on the left side of this page.

© All Rights Reserved. Content is the property of its owners and may not be reproduced without express written consent.