ore than 90 high schools across the 24-county region compete in more than a dozen sports on a varsity level each year. Most compete under the guidelines of the Missouri State High School Activities Association, and others under the sanction of the Missouri Christian School Athletic Association.

Southeast Missouri schools and athletes have won hundreds of state championships in a variety of athletic competitions, including baseball, basketball, cheerleading, football, soccer, softball, track and field, volleyball and wrestling since high school sports first began locally more than 120 years ago.

Much of the historical high school information on this site was gathered by Al Jackson, a longtime Southeast Missouri high school sports advocate and historian whose hard work allows us to share the great teams, athletes and stories of past years. Al died in 2018, and we dedicate these pages to him.

Stay in touch • Share your ideas, suggestions or complaints with us here, or share them on our forum or on social media. We value your feedback.

Your name:

Your email address:

Share your comments:

Central Christmas Tournament winners

The Central Christmas Tournament launched in 1956, and for its first 42 years the event featured only a boys bracket. Eventually, Central's traditional January girls tournament was moved back a couple of weeks to be a part of the Christmas tournament, adding that 8-team bracket to the existing 16-team boys bracket. The tournament has grown to feature 37 games over a span of five days each year.

In 2000, the event was renamed Bob Sechrest Jr. Central Christmas Tournament to honor former school board member and longtime tournament supporter Bob Sechrest Jr.

2019-20: South Iron 73, Park Hills Central 57
2018: Farmington 66, South Iron 62
2017: Hillsboro 65, Farmington 54
2016: Farmington 48, Hillsboro 45
2015: Park Hills Central 70, North County 52
2014: Park Hills Central 60, Potosi 54
2013: Farmington 56, South Iron 56
2012: Park Hills Central 64, Farmington 58
2011: DeSoto, 66, Farmington 61
2010: Farmington, 56, DeSoto 55
2009: Arcadia Valley 63, Potosi 48
2008: Farmington 55, DeSoto 51
2007: South Iron 67, Saint Clair 60
2006: North County 72, Farmington 59
2005: Farmington 54, Festus 53
2004: Farmington
2003: DeSoto 53, Farmington 43
2002: DeSoto
2001: Park Hills Central 89, DeSoto 68
2000: South Iron
1999: Arcadia Valley
1998: Farmington
1997: Park Hills Central
1996: DeSoto
1995: DeSoto
1994: North County
1993: North County
1992: Potosi
1991: Arcadia Valley
1990: South Iron
1989: Potosi
1988: Valley
1987: Fredericktown
1986: South Iron
1985: DeSoto
1984: Fredericktown
1983: Flat River Central
1982: Bismarck
1981: DeSoto
1980: Valley
1979: South Iron
1978: Crystal City
1977: Crystal City
1976: Flat River Central
1975: Flat River Central
1974: DeSoto
1973: Bismarck
1972: Leadwood
1971: Farmington
1970: Leadwood
1969: Potosi
1968: Potosi
1967: Saint Pius X
1966: DeSoto
1965: Farmington Saint Joseph
1964: Herculaneum
1963: Farmington Saint Joseph
1962: South Iron
1961: Potosi
1960: Washington
1959: Washington
1958: Washington
1957: Centerville
1956: Flat River

Have information to share? • Our goal is to make this list as inclusive and accurate as possible. If you have updates or information that would help improve this list, we would like to include it here. Click here to contact us by email, or use the form on the left side of this page.

© All Rights Reserved. Content is the property of its owners and may not be reproduced without express written consent.