ore than 90 high schools across the 24-county region compete in more than a dozen sports on a varsity level each year. Most compete under the guidelines of the Missouri State High School Activities Association, and others under the sanction of the Missouri Christian School Athletic Association.

Southeast Missouri schools and athletes have won hundreds of state championships in a variety of athletic competitions, including baseball, basketball, cheerleading, football, soccer, softball, track and field, volleyball and wrestling since high school sports first began locally more than 120 years ago.

Much of the historical high school information on this site was gathered by Al Jackson, a longtime Southeast Missouri high school sports advocate and historian whose hard work allows us to share the great teams, athletes and stories of past years. Al died in 2018, and we dedicate these pages to him.

Stay in touch • Share your ideas, suggestions or complaints with us here, or share them on our forum or on social media. We value your feedback.

Your name:

Your email address:

Share your comments:

Sikeston Invitational Tournament history

The eight-team Sikeston Invitational Tournament ended in December 2005 after a 34-year run. Doniphan, Kennett, and Osceola, Ark., all appeared in the final years of the event. The tournament was replaced by the SEMO Conference Tournament, which featured several of the same teams.

2005-06: Blytheville, Ark., 77, Charleston 51
2004: Sikeston 55, Blytheville, Ark., 52
2003: Charleston 75, Cape Girardeau Central 57
2002: Poplar Bluff 84, Blytheville, Ark., 59
2001: New Madrid County Central, 62, Poplar Bluff 53
2000: New Madrid County Central defeated Poplar Bluff
1999: New Madrid County Central
1998: Blytheville, Ark., 58, Sikeston 43
1997: n/a
1996: Charleston 71, Fort Smith (Ark.) Northside 58
1995: Charleston 50, Cape Girardeau Central 44
1994: Sikeston defeated Blytheville, Ark.
1993: Charleston
1992: Sikeston defeated Blytheville, Ark.
1991: Charleston 45, Sikeston 33
1990: Charleston 62, Cape Girardeau Central 51
1989: Charleston 57, New Madrid County Central 38
1988: Poplar Bluff 66, Charleston 62
1987: Blytheville, Ark., 59, Poplar Bluff 49
1986: New Madrid County Central 48, Charleston 37
1985: Blytheville, Ark., 52, Charleston 45
1984: n/a
1983: New Madrid County Central 63, Sikeston 54
1982: Cape Girardeau Central 50, Blytheville, Ark., 48
1981: Poplar Bluff 63, New Madrid County Central 56
1980: Cape Girardeau Central 54, Sikeston 53
1979: Cape Girardeau Central 61, Lilbourn 54
1978: Lilbourn defeated Sikeston
1977: Cape Girardeau Central 77, Lilbourn 75
1976: Charleston 46, Sikeston 33
1975: Sikeston defeated Poplar Bluff
1974: Lilbourn 74, Sikeston 70
1973: Lilbourn 67, Poplar Bluff 59
1972: Hayti 67, Poplar Bluff 60

Have information to share? • Our goal is to make this list as inclusive and accurate as possible. If you have updates or information that would help improve this list, we would like to include it here. Click here to contact us by email, or use the form on the left side of this page.

© All Rights Reserved. Content is the property of its owners and may not be reproduced without express written consent.